Bought a new Macbook pro and got this on start up

Reaction score
Hi all

I just bought a new Pro from eBay, everything seems legit. Unwrapped the mac and got the message to say that it was a Unilever laptop.

It's new and am wondering if there's a way of removing this so I can use the laptop.

I've tried the ways of doing a factor restore (even thought it technically has been turned on for the first time today). Option, Command, P, and R

Is there any other way?
Otherwise I'll send it back to the seller.

Attachments

• 972EAE8A-FAA3-417D-9D59-6C2136875729.jpeg
    972EAE8A-FAA3-417D-9D59-6C2136875729.jpeg
    103.6 KB · Views: 34
  • D7F68FCD-A1BF-4F56-BAD9-A838C763A6BE.jpeg
    D7F68FCD-A1BF-4F56-BAD9-A838C763A6BE.jpeg
    100.6 KB · Views: 33

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
Hi and a very warm welcome to our forums.

I am no expert in this area, but it seems to me that Unilever “owns” that Mac. Maybe it was being used by an employee of Unilever?

This is not a brand new Mac. It has been used previously and that raises questions about permissions, about whether there is another Apple ID associated with it.

The second screenshot is asking you to allow Unilever to control your Mac remotely. If it were me, I would send this back and demand a refund. I could never trust this Mac given what you’ve posted.

Other members here may have other suggestions.

Ian

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The second screenshot is asking you to allow Unilever to control your Mac remotely. If it were me, I would send this back and demand a refund. I could never trust this Mac given what you’ve posted.

Good advice! I agree with Ian, send it back and ask for a refund. Hopefully you used PayPal.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin