Blue Tint on iPhone Photos of TV Screen

Reaction score
My wife has an iPhone 8 Plus. Occasionally, she takes a photo of something that catches her interest on our TV. Just recently, such photos come out with a blue tint, whereas they previously always showed the accurate colors on the TV screen. This problem does not occur when she takes photos of other things. What caused her TV photos to tint blue? Did she accidentally change the iPhone photo settings? How can she fix this? Thank you.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I'm by no means a photo expert, but I suspect your wife may have accidentally invoked a setting for the camera such as a filter. I rarely if ever take photos with my iPhone but we have many folks here in our forums who have lots of experience with their phones and taking photos. Hopefully someone will have an answer for you shortly.

And welcome back to the forums. Good to see that you remembered your user name and password. :)

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
A warm welcome to Mac-Forums and thank you for your post.

I am assuming that your wife's iPhone 8+ is running the latest iOS which is 13.3.1

I agree with our Senior Admin, chscag, that this may be a settings issue.

May I suggest the following:

Open Settings > Camera and then tap on "Preserve Settings". Check that "Camera Mode" is Off - and that "Creative Controls" is also Off - and that "Live Photo" is On

There is an explanation under each of these which tells you what they mean. In brief, unchecking Camera Mode means when she turns on the Camera, it always defaults to "Photo".