• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Any COBOL Programmers? Uncle Sam needs you now !!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21 M1 Pro 14" MBP, 23 M2 Pro Mac Mini (MacOS 14), iPhone 15 Pro Max (iOS 17), iPad 6 (iPadOS 17)
Blimey!

I did a Computer Studies degree at the Polytechnic of Wales back in the mid 1980s and did COBOL then. Hated it! And quickly forgot most of it too!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookPro 13 v11.1, i5 2.4 GHz, 256 GBs SSD, 8 GBs DDRs
I also studied COBOL, in addition to Assembler, JCL, FORTRAN languages and loved the Assembler language. At the time of my studies. mainframes were not as powerful as nowadays. When I was ready to compile my COBOL program, I used Assembler language to send out a message to everyone, that "The system is going down for a reboot, please save your work and log off". This worked just fine twice, compiled my program quickly, until the mainframe operators removed my access to schedule a JCL batch jobs.

The guy, who wrote the first electronic ticker tape for Nasdaq in CICS language was my professor. He just laughed at the operators, when they complained about my JCL batch jobs...

Yeah, that was in the 80s for me too, haven't used these languages since the mid 80s, early 90s.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs