Airport Extreme possibly dead? What direction to go?

Reaction score
Hey guys!
My Airport Extreme began to cut out 2 nights ago, and then last night stopped working (blinking Amber light, with error messages in Airport Utility stating "No internet connection," and "No DNS servers.") I contacted my ISP twice to check my internet connection with them, and all is fine on that end (I am currently hard wired on my laptop).

I purchased the AE in 2012, and not sure what direction to go. I'm not sure if it would be worth calling Apple Support to try to diagnose my problem, or just bite the bullet and update my router.

My questions...
1. Is it possible that my router has gone bad after almost 4 years, and would be worth just purchasing the latest version?
2. Since I'm not tech savvy at all, would it be best for me to simply order a router through my ISP and pay a monthly fee for it (so that in the future, if I had any problems I could just call them to fix it)?
3. I know this is kind of a dumb question since I am on a Mac forum, but is the AE truly the best way to go?

Sorry for the lengthy email, but I need to get this up and running ASAP because my kids school relies so heavily on accessing the internet for assignments!!!

I really appreciate any help you can provide!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5" with Retina 4K Display, 3.1GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB Flash Storage Late 2015
1. It is certainly possible it is going bad. Have you tried turning off your ISP modem and AE and restarting, first with the modem and then the AE?
2. Rental does not make sense to me as I have never had a router fail on me, insurance is not really worth it. In the long term buying would probably be cheaper.
3. AE in my opinion is the best way to go especially if money is not a primary consideration. You say you are not tech savvy so I find Apple product easier to work with.

Good luck

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Air M2 ('22) OS 14.3; M3 iMac ('23) OS 14.3; iPad Pro; iPhone 14