Fixin' to pull the trigger.

Reaction score
Okay, so I've finally made the choice to dump my PC for a Mac laptop. Although, like a lot of folks I suppose, I need a little tiny bit of help.
Now, for starters, I am a college student. I am majoring in Art Education but I do dabble in graphic design. I also play violin and am very interested in using the Garage Band program to record a little.
With my education discount, I can get the "entry level" Macbook Pro for 1,799$ or the higher end(?) Macbook in black for 1,499$. I'm just trying to decide if the Pro would indeed be a wiser investment for it's display, video card and other such features.
Mostly, aside from my music and graphic interests, the computer really just needs to serve the basic purposes of most run of the mill college students. (Office '08, Safari, iTunes & etc. )
My family keeps using the term "Better to have too much than not enough!" so based on this I am leaning towards the Pro. I was just wondering if even the Macbook would be considered "too much" in the realm of what I would be using it for.
Thanks a lot!

the price difference isn't so much the concern, I'm just wondering if the Pro would be considered overkill basically.

Reaction score
Buy "dabble in graphic design" what do you mean by that? What kind of programs would you be running?

Reaction score
If you go right now you can get a 15" 2.16ghz MBP in the refurb store for 1299. And there are a plethora of macbook configurations for at or under a grand. That MBP for 1299 is REALLY tempting me I can tell you that much.

OP
K
Reaction score
As far as programs go, it'd just be Photoshop CS3, maybe Illustrator.
I'm looking through those refurb pros now! Haha.

Reaction score
As far as programs go, it'd just be Photoshop CS3, maybe Illustrator.
I'm looking through those refurb pros now! Haha.