How to resurrect my G4

Reaction score
Hi

I have a powerbook G4 gigabit ethernet (one of the 2001/2002 models) which after a life of abuse has decide to withdraw its services... the logic board is dead.

I would like to use the remaining, still working, parts to make a working machine, but I don't know where to start. I don't care if doesn't end up being a mac, as I will probably end up running linux on it. Is it possible to replace the logic board with one usually found in a pc?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm not very technically proficient.

If it can be done, can anyone suggest a logic board to me?

Thanks in advance

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook G3, 500MHz, CD-ROM, 12"
No i don't think you can swap boards like that, look on eBay, you should be able to find one, maybe not for cheap but you could find one.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6
Replacing the logic board (or motherboard) is the most difficult thing to do, because everything else connects to it.

If you do this, you have a very important choice to make. Do you literally ONLY replace the logic board, meaning you keep the RAM and CPU that's on it, or replace the whole thing with a MB, CPU and RAM to go with it.

The first choice is probably the hardest, because I doubt there are many CPU-less logic boards lying around, plus you'd have to remove the current components and place them on the new board, hoping they're compatible. If even you stick with PPC, then you can still install OS X, or Linux.

If you decide to rip out the entire thing, and go for a Mobo/CPU and RAM from elsewhere, then you get a bit more flexibility and could probably still use the other components, but I am not sure of the form factor of your machine and if it would house , for example, an Intel Mobo.