Mac Pro or iMac

Reaction score
HI

I am new to the world of Macs and hope that this is the right area to post to.
I am in the market for a new Mac for use in a studio. It needs to run over a network as we use a NAS storage device for large scale storage. I also need it to comfortably run:
FCP pro studio 2
Shake
and be able to do Blue-Ray and High def editing. I have been looking at possibly 2 2.8ghz iMacs or a single 8 core Mac Pro. Whilst I understand that the Mac pro will perform far better than the iMac if theiMacs will do the job then having 2 would be far more convenient.

Any comments or thoughts appreciated

Dean

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
The iMac should be just fine. Bear in mind that the Mac Pro may NOT substantially outperform the iMac just because it has more cores. The actual speed difference per core between the Mac Pro and the iMac is only 0.2 GHz, or 7%. The cores are not the same of course, and the Penryn core used by the Mac Pro is reputed to get up to about 5% better performance in real life tasks, clock-for-clock, vs. the Core 2 Duo that the iMac uses. So, lets be generous and say that you will be up to 12% better raw throughput in the Mac Pro.

That may be it. The additional cores only count if the software you are using is coded to make use of them. If not, what you will find is that none of your cores ever achieve full occupancy even though your job (whatever it is) isn't going as fast as you would like. For example, if the software you are using is organized into four threads and you have 8 cores, you will see all 8 cores running, but only at about 50% occupancy. There was a post complaining of this very thing just a few days ago.