160gb Hard Drive and never have any space

Reaction score
I waited almost a month about a year ago when I purchased my Mac Book pro 15", because I had to special order it to have a larger hard drive. I'm glad I did, but yet, I still have only 7-15 gb of space available most of the time. What is it that is clogging up my hard drive?

I keep all of my files (photos/videos/documents) on my external drives. The only thing I keep on my internal HD is my iTunes music which is about 10GB.

I come from a PC, so I'm used to going to Add/Remove programs to see what programs I have that take up the most room.

I'm a photographer and used to be a videographer, so I have a ton of software I use on my computer. Since I am no longer a videographer, I have gone as far as deleting all of my Final Cut Pro Studio 2 applications and even Garage band because I know it comes with a lot of sound clips and such. These are the software I have on my computer:

Leopard
Adobe Lightroom
Photoshop CS3
Illustrator CS2
MS Office
Final Cut Compressor is all I kept from the suite

I will have to think if I have any more, but everything else is little stuff such as what comes with the macbook pro or skitch and fetch and stuff like that.

My machine also takes a while to start up and to shut down, which started happening just since I installed Leopard, so that may not be related to the fact that I'm working with very little free hard drive space.

Please give me any tips on how to clean it out or if this is normal having the programs I have on my computer.

Thanks,

Andry

M

MacHeadCase

Give WhatSize a run on your internal hard drive, you might see what the problem is.

Report back so we know what gives. Good luck! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro Quad Xeon 2.66GHz 3GB RAM, G4 Quicksilver w/Sonnet 1GHz Encore ST, 1ghz G4 Powerbook
at the finder do a "find" (command f)

at the next screen enter the parameters of the search, leaving the search field blank