Apple WiFi Advantages and comparisons?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac24aluminum
Hello, all. I've just registered here, as I've just recently gotten my new iMac! :D I'm not a complete newb, but suffice it to say that my Mac experience has been with system 4 through system 7. I'm so glad to be back to using a computer that works properly! I ordered this iMac with XP preinstalled, and haven't even booted it there yet, or even installed my VMWare.

Now, if I may, a question: What advantages, or differences, are there to having and AirPort Extreme as compared to a standard Belkin, etc. N router? I'm assuming it would offer some setup advantages (like a Mac), but I'm wondering whether I'd be better off spending $80-100 less on a standard brand router, and applying the money elsewhere.

This network would be feeding off a RoadRunner cable connection, and supporting the Mac and two PCs.

I've read the FAQ, which answered my other questions, (thanks). If this topic has been covered elsewhere (I wasn't able to find it), please redirect me!

Thanks in advance for all the advice you can offer.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Unless you plan on adding external hard drive to the router and/or need more than three Ethernet ports, then go with another brand. I have the D-Link DIR-655 802.11n router and it works great for all of my Macs. Plus, it was a heck of a lot cheaper than the Airport Extreme.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I concur with Kash. Have that same router. Have a network printer attached to it. Works like a champ with all my Mac and Win PC's, and very nice looking.

Also have a pre-n Linksys which works with no problems.

OP
pilotjones
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac24aluminum
Thanks for the replies. Kepp them coming!