Mac and Windows LAN capable?

Reaction score
I got a game that's on my Mac and also my PC. Was wondering about LAN gaming with the two. Now I'm not a network expert, but my guess is that I have to fetch one of my ethernet cables, plug one end into the Mac, and the other end into the PC - and it's good to go?

I've tried a different method before, by connecting my Mac's ethernet cable to my wireless router, with the PC doing the same thing. Couldn't find any LAN servers in the game though.

Anyone care to share some of their awesome LAN-knowledge? :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
That router method should work. Did you make sure to host a game on one of the machines and have the other connect to it?

OP
Burim
Reaction score
Of course. I hosted it and optimised it for LAN gaming, the server shows up on the host's server list, but on the PC's list, there's nothing, even after 5-10 refreshes.

(I should mention that the PC currently has some sort of virus that won't let me access the control panel, or the internet, but I figure the internet doesn't have a part in this?)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Lenovo Z560 Hackintosh -:- '06 iMac -:- iPod Touch 2ndGen
(I should mention that the PC currently has some sort of virus that won't let me access the control panel, or the internet, but I figure the internet doesn't have a part in this?)

Err, yeah, it will. The first thing you want to do is get the PC fixed.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro 4GB
Being the professionally paranoid geek that I am, I'm going to seriously suggest you get the PC working properly first. There are some great tools out there to help you clean the crap out of XP, and here are some recommendations:

F-secure's Blacklight - you can get the current beta from www.betanews.com