Cheapest place to buy a MacBook Pro

Reaction score
Apple has the basic 17" config for $2800, $2600 for me being a college student. macmall.com has them for $2000 or so, with the same config. I am not looking for somewhere cheaper than that, but do you think it would be a wise choice to go with macmall ? Prices that much lower than the company that makes it makes me think twice about the legality of macmall. I fear the mbps they are selling may be refurbs or something similar. Where would you guys go buy a macbook pro if it were you ? I would like to spend less than $2600 if at all possible, although I will gladly pay that amount if need be.

Reaction score
I bought mine at an apple retail store. This is more than likely the safest way to get your new macbook. Macmall.com doesnt look to be any kind of fake retailer or shady dealer though. You should probably be safe I would think.

(I'm a college student too and have been saving my money for like 6 months just to get mine haha)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.53Ghz, 4GB ram, 500gb hd -- Apple TV 160gb -- MacMini 1.83ghz
I read on another Mac forum that someone got a nice deal from CompUSA. The store is closing and clearing all it's inventory.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2GHz/2GB/CD
My cousin got his in Boston, used, excellent condition for $1000. A 17" too. It was the earlier models, still good though.

OP
D
Reaction score
im not too keen on getting a used laptop or a refurb no matter in how good of a condition it is...just a personal preference...id like to be able to blame any problem either on apple or my usage and not have to wonder what the last person did to it...

anyways...couldnt find any on compusa...deffinitely considering macmall...any other suggestions ?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" Matte 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
I got mine refurbished from MacMall for $2,200ish.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs