The 2008 Mac minis

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Don't have one yet.
The 2008 Mini Macs

I know they don't do too well, if any good at all, when playing video games on them. I'm not into playing VGs on computers anyway. I prefer to use Play Stations or X-Boxes.

But what I wanted to know is, will the graphics card or chip in the Mini be great just for photos. I already have a nice LG 19 inch widescreen 3000:1 ratio monitor. Many people have said it's lowsy even for just photos, but most of them are Windows lovers.

If it isn't good enough just for photos, can it be upgraded to something better? nVidia has been my favorite for a long time now, not that it's the best, but it seems to be plenty good enough for me.

Also, what is the equivalent of Word for a Mac? I'm guessing it's called iWork? I'm a bulletin editor for my church, so I needed to know if it comes installed with Leopard, or if I have to buy the the iWork disc separately?

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
But what I wanted to know is, will the graphics card or chip in the Mini be great just for photos.
It will be perfectly fine for your needs.
Macropolis said:
Also, what is the equivalent of Word for a Mac?
Word... for Mac.

You could use iWork or MS Office for Mac. Either one would need to be purchased separately.

Reaction score
Whoever said that Minis aren't good for photos doesn't know what they're talking about. Why would Apple (or any other computer company) make a computer for $600 that isn't even good for photos? Silly silly silly....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.53 GHz MBP, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD
You can also use NeoOffice. I use this and it works great.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Al iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
Any graphics card made in at least the last 10 years can display 2D images such as photos in its sleep!