Xcode use help

Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
115
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz, 160 gig HDD @ 5400, 2 gig RAM, nVIDIA 8600
Hey,
So I just installed Xcode for Leopard onto my computer, and I have no idea how to use it. I have always used c++ visual 6.0 for xp, but I was tired of the issues it was having and wanted to switch. Could anyone give me a crash course (or tell me where to find one) on how to build and edit basic c++ applications?

Thanks!
 
M

MacHeadCase

Guest
*Moved thread to appropriate forum - Not a Switcher question but Development*
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
i was wondering that too....

you can do simple c++ programs in textedit and then run them through terminal.. i just learned that yesterday
http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95573


but i find that process very clumsy and ineffective.. if xcode can do so many complicated things im sure it can compile and run simple c++ code .. and im wandering how :p
 
OP
C
Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
115
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz, 160 gig HDD @ 5400, 2 gig RAM, nVIDIA 8600
that really isnt suffice for simple needs. I really do not like citrix or visual 6.0

is it any better with other languages?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Messages
443
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Atlanta, GA
Your Mac's Specs
17" Macbook Pro Unibody 2.66 Ghz and Powerbook G4 1.67 GHz 2.0GB RAM
Try this:

1.) Open XCode
2.) Click File -> New Project
3.) Scroll down a while on the project lists to 'Command Line Utility' section.
*Note* You may need to click the carrot on the side to expand it to see all of the options.
4.) Select C++ Tool
5.) Pick a source directory for the project
6.) Name the project

Then the project viewer thing comes up.

7.) Double click main.cpp and up pops XCode's editor.

8.) Code the "Hello world thing"

9.) Save

10.) Click Build and Go in the toobar.

Does that help?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
yep i tried it a few days ago and got it
except when i press run and go nothing happens.. i usually have to go to the folder and open the the build
 
OP
C
Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
115
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz, 160 gig HDD @ 5400, 2 gig RAM, nVIDIA 8600
meh, I'll just use another program
 
OP
C
Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
115
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz, 160 gig HDD @ 5400, 2 gig RAM, nVIDIA 8600
but thanks for all the help!
 
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
anyone know how I can add a space between my printout in binary. This is my code and the for loop will give me the correct readout I just cant get the output to put a space in between every four characters.#include <stdio.h>



// int andfx(int i, int mask);
int count;
int i = 0x1b53;
int mask = 0x8000;
int j;






int main (void)
{
printf("Hex value = %x,\t",i);
printf("Binary value=");
for (count =0;count<=16;count++)



{
if (i&mask)



printf("1");
else
printf("0");
mask = mask >> 1;











}






printf("\n");




return 0;
}
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top