newbie Mac user here - needs help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G3 B&W 450Mhz, 1Gb RAM OS X 10.3 LEOPARD
Hi all.

I'm brand new to the world of Mac and I've just 'acquired' a G3 B&W running OS X 10.2.1. The first thing I wanted to do was update the OS to the latest possible version using the standard software update tool. It identified a newer version available, (along with Safari update), and I chose download & install. The download commenced and then changed to 'unpacking files'. As soon as it changed to 'installing', the installer quit unexpectedly. The same happened for Safari. So.. I then tried to find, download and install updates manually. Same thing - after the image is mounted and install starts, it quits.
I checked & fixed permissions and made sure I had administrator rights, and also checked the disk. It seemed that everything I tried to install crashed / quit during installation - also any programs I did manage to download did not launch at all.

Now - here's the thing. I booted into OS 9.* just to have a look. I did not change / delete / move anything at all. Then the OS froze and I had to do a hard reboot. Now NOTHING will boot. It stays on the question mark - looking for boot device. I have done the PRAM reset (3 chimes), and used COOF. I hear the SCSI drive initiate at switch on, but no boot sector is found.

As the G3 was donated to me, I have no CD's / DVD's to boot from, and I know no-one else personally who is a MAC user.

What can I do?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

M

MacHeadCase

Welcome to Mac-forums, sbaceman.

Looks like your only recourse is to look for a restore disk kit on eBay or craigslit. I would suggest that you look for a Mac OS X 10.3 Panther retail full install disk instead of looking for a replacement of Jaguar and OS 9.

Panther was much more sturdy than Jaguar was and OS 9 is very old and it is becoming very hard to find software that will work in that archaic OS environment.

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs