Pro Tools & Leopard (help resolve an argument)

Reaction score
another Pro Tools/Leopard thread. i'll be brief.

i too, just purchased a new Macbook Pro laptop that shipped with Leopard.

i too, just purchased a Mbox with Pro Tools 7.3 and was unable to install it on this machine.

i've read how some people have gotten Pro Tools running with Leopard, while others haven't. is this just by luck?

someone at an audio store told me that I CANNOT go back and install Tiger since it won't run with the latest Macbook Pro laptops. yet, i still see all these threads where people are going back to Tiger. can this be done? will installing Tiger mess up my machine, or should i just wait for the Digi update?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2.2ghz 2G 15.5" 10.5.2; Iphone 3G
I'm in the same boat as you... I will be getting a Digi 003 i two weeks and I just got a macbook pro. I've never used a mac before but I think it's silly to say that Tiger won't work on it. Sounds like a music store guy trying to sound knowledgeable, to me.
I was thinking about calling Apple and asking if they'd send me Tiger for free...

I will say...

I work with a guy who is a top level studio engineer and he is totally in Pro Tools. He says he's heard that compatibility with Leopard is imminent. Some say we won't see it til summer so you can't trust anything.

This post isn't much help, but you most certainly can install Tiger on your MBP... (Someone step in if I'm wrong) Also know that you have to backup your drive because all your data will be erased if you install Tiger.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Pro Tools is like that other great backup utility SuperDuper - the techos are working on ithemand will release only when fully Leopard compatible. Just be (a little more) patient.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Intel 2ghz Macbook | 80Gb Ipod