Left side of screen darker than normal

Reaction score
Hey all,

Recently, my MBP's screen has been darker on the left side of the screen than the right side. It seems to only show up when I start up, but it doesn't go away for a good 20 minutes on low light, or about 5 minutes when the brightness is at high. It bugs me in general, but I'm also an engineering/design student so I need my screen to stay in good shape. I think it's pretty significant, but you can have your own opinion looking at my pictures. I've owned many laptops but I've never had a screen problem like this before.

I have owned this Macbook Pro since Nov 2006, but I do have the 3 year AppleCare so I could take it to the Apple Store, but I'm afraid it won't show up when they look at it or they won't believe me. (Like that ever happens, right?) Any advice?

(I was thinking about going to the Apple Store anyway because I'm missing the silver "O" in "Pro" on the Macbook Pro logo below the screen. ;P)

IMG_0001.JPG

IMG_0002.JPG

IMG_0003.JPG

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17' MBP 2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo, AppleTV 160GB, iPod Classic 80GB, iPhone 8GB
Mine does that on the left side also, but it isn't as bad. It is dark on my right side for the first 10 minutes and the left for 15. I can't decide to drive all the way to a apple store and not have the genius believe me.

Reaction score
I would book it in to an Apple Store, take a few pictures with you in case the screen is working when they check it over.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Take it in to Apple. Sounds like a Backlight issue.

OP
M
Reaction score
So I did take it to the Apple Store and, of course, they couldn't see it, but I showed them the pictures and they believed me and are ordering the part. It's gonna take a week for it to arrive. I'm glad they are doing it, but I wish I didn't live a 2 hour drive from the Apple Store.