Are refurbished MacBooks worth it?

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the forums, but I've had a few Macs in the past. I'm planning on purchasing a MacBook in March for my birthday. I was going to buy the new 2.0GHz MacBook from the Apple store upgrading to 2GB RAM and 120GB HD. I'm a student and use the basic Mac applications. I don't play many computer games and my boyfriend tells me that I shouldn't need a bigger HD or more RAM. All in all, with my education discount the total would be $1,202.

I then started looking at the refurbished MacBooks in the Apple Store. And I can purchase a Black MacBook with 2.16GHz, 1GB RAM, and 160GB HD for $1,249. I was reading in a few other threads about how to upgrade the RAM, and found a website where I can upgrade to 2GB (2x1GB) for 49.99 plus tax and shipping. I was told that refurbished Macs don't have scratches and they are certified by Apple and don't have problems.

I like the BlackBooks more than the white, as they are more aesthetically pleasing. But I was reluctant to spend the extra money from the bottom model I was going to upgrade. My question to all of you is: Is it worth it to spend the extra $40 for the laptop and then the extra $50 to update the hard drive to get a refurbished laptop? Or should I just stick with the brand new Santa Rosa MacBooks?

Thank you in advance for the advice.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook G3 - You'll be missed.
First off, I don't know why he would say you don't need a bigger HDD or more ram, you can always use more ram if the pocket book permits it, storage is good, the more you have is better. There is one rule of thumb though, don't buy your ram or HDD from Apple, they over charge for extra memory, big time.

You are always better off purchasing your ram and HDD's elsewhere. As for refurbs go, they are always good, since they are refurbished they will still be in like new condition, I really haven't seen any that have been in terrible condition at all.