General Question

Reaction score
I am new to the whole wireless internet thing, so bear with me. I just purchased my first computer, a macbook, and so far am happy. I know the general stuff with it being hooked to the internet, did it at my parents, but I don't have it where I am at. What is the best type of internet connection to have for it? Broadband, dsl? Also, to get wireless, do I have to have a home phone number, or will just having a phone jack work? I don't want to pay for phone service when I have a cell phone. I'm sure there will be other questions as I go.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 17" 1Ghz G4  iPhone 3G  10.5.5
Well, going wireless and the Internet are separate themselves...:Smirk:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sorry about not finishing my earlier post. (My son likes to play with the keyboard) :Oops:
First, you need to see what's available in your area. I would recommend broadband cable. (great speed) If not available, then look for DSL.
Keep in mind, there will be fee's either way. And DSL needs a phone line to work.
Is the Macbook already installed with an Airport card?

OP
S
Reaction score
I think the airport card is on there. When I was able to access internet at my parents, the three bar things were darkened at the top. When I got to my place, they were not. Is that what you are talking about?

Does broadband cable require me to have a phone line? I just don't want to pay for phone service.

Also, what is out there for traveling in vehicles? I looked on apple website and saw the kensington charger. Is that what most people use?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Look at the System Profiler in Applications/Utilities
On the left side, it has all info on the Computer. If it's there, it will be listed. (will be under Network)
Drag the icon to the dock as well. It will come in handy for learning your computer.