Help with Azureus...

Reaction score
I am using Azureus which many of you know what program that is, to download files. However, people say that it is the fastest torrent client, but it only downloads files at a max of 3kb/s and never ever has a green smiley face. I hear all these people downloading at 30kb/s or more. Now how can i do that. I did the NAT/firewall test and it gave me that error message saying the test timed out after 20seconds, your port may not be open. I don't know what to do, i am a beginner, so if anyone can help me that would be great. Also, I dont know if being on a college internet has anything to do with it. That means i have no access to the router or whatever. Someone please help because my files are taking FOREVER to download.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
If it failed the NAT test and you're living on a college campus, then it looks like the university might have blocked the standard ports for using that program. This means you either need to find somebody on campus who has found an open port, or you pretty much settle for the slow speeds.

I'm not sure if this will make a difference or not, but try giving Transmission a try. It's simpler, so it's possible that it may work better.

Also, check to see if there is a Direct Connect (or DC++) network at your school. This is generally a way for college students to share files with each other on campus, resulting in blazingly fast speeds.

OP
K
Reaction score
i downloaded transmission and placed all the torrents in, but now those will not start to download... is there something i have to do? one of the files gave me an error message saying the tracker could not be reached, when azureus was downloading it. Also, the other files just wont do anything

Reaction score
i think i have a somewhat same problem