Clone to PC w/CCC or Super Duper

Reaction score
I have a PC with a 500 GB HD and I am wondering if I can clone my mac partition to that PC, instead of buying an external HD that way, if something gets screwed up I can just load the image and I'll be back in business? I am a college student and am really low on cash, so I can't spring for and external HD. I just want to check if this is possible before doing this. I think I can simply create a shared folder and just have the image there can't I? Will Super Duper and/or Carbon Copy Cloner help me out here? How do those apps create the image? is it a .dmg file?

Thanks for reading.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I have a PC with a 500 GB HD and I am wondering if I can clone my mac partition to that PC, instead of buying an external HD that way, if something gets screwed up I can just load the image and I'll be back in business? I am a college student and am really low on cash, so I can't spring for and external HD. I just want to check if this is possible before doing this. I think I can simply create a shared folder and just have the image there can't I? Will Super Duper and/or Carbon Copy Cloner help me out here? How do those apps create the image? is it a .dmg file?

Thanks for reading.

Both programs do a file for file clone to another disk (they do not create an image file), SuperDuper supports backing up to a network attached volume (I don't believe CCC does, but don't quote me on that). With that said, the destination volume will be completely overwritten, so you will not be able to store any other data on that disk unless you have it partitioned and are dedicating a partition to Mac backups. You will also not have the option of booting from the backup volume as you would on an external hard disk.