From a PC to a Macpro

Reaction score
Early last year I was looking to upgrade my computer. I studied Multimedia at university and wanted to set up at home so I would be able to do some freelance work on the side. Now back in college we had both macs and PCs in the computer lab. I'd only ever used PCs before and whilst I dabbled a little on the macs while I was there I just felt a lot more comfortable on the PCs. So around May last year I started looking into upgrading my fairly good if a little old PC to run apps like Photoshop and Flash without choaking. Although I'm fairly good in design packages when it comes to the technical side of what goes into a computer I don't have a clue. So I posted on the Dell forums (where I got my previous PC from) and asked what they'd recommend for someone looking to design freelance. Every response I got suggested that perhaps I'd be better off with a mac. Having been told this before I decided to seriously look into it. I liked the look of the macpro but was concerned about things being different. I was told if there were things that wouldn't work on OSx then I should consider something like bootcamp. So I decided to take the plunge, after all my PC was on it's last legs.

I ordered a macpro with a 23" HD monitor (I was upgrading from a 15" regular flatscreen). Also I ordered an Adobe package with Illustrator, Flash, Dreamweaver, In Design, Photoshop and Acrobat to get started with. If anyone wants to see the configuration for the mac it's this:

2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
4GB 667 DDR2 FB DIMM ECC-4x1GB
NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB
500GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s drive
16x SuperDrive DL
Airprt Extrm & BT 2.0+EDR-INT
WL Apple Kybd & WL Mgty Ms-B
MAC OS X-INT
Country Kit-B