Massive help needed with new HD

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2006 | 2011 21.5in iMac-1tb-i5-12gig | iPhone 3gs
One of our work computers seems to be having trouble. So boss lady bought a new internal harddrive and is expecting ME to put it in.

H E L P !

First of all.... how do I back up what's on the current drive? Second... once I install the new drive, how do I get the OS on it?

I need to warn you all up front that I cannot purchase any sort of software for ANYthing...... it killed her to buy a new hard drive. They penny pinch and weasle out of a lot of purchases that are desperatly needed so having to purchase back up software will be out of the question....

Something free that's out there maybe?

I'm not that good with "parts"...... I need some guidance..... :(

OP
MACyMouse
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
OOps.......... sorry..... it's a G4 OSX 10.4.11
Upgraded a gazillion times over... I think it still has OS 8.5 System folder on it!

M

MacHeadCase

Good lord! 8.5? Don't ever launch that with OS X!

You do have an external hard drive to back up the internal HD to be replaced? Just download SuperDuper! it will clone your hard drive. I would tell you to delete the 8.5 OS but just in case it creates problems, leave it there for now.

It's really easy: you pick what will be cloned and where the backup will go. It will verify that the clone is bootable and ok and there you have it.

OP
MACyMouse
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Ok... I downloaded SuperDuper but all we have is a cheapo external 80gig drive powered by a USB... now superduper says it can copy to a Network drive so I connected to my computer... followed the instructions to make a disk image... and copy the HD over to the Backup Disk Image I made but what's scaring me right now is that it says it's going to ERASE the MOBackUp Disk image I created..... does that mean it's going to erase MY computer because I'm copying over a network onto my work computer?