802.11n and mac pro wired connection

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac pro 2.66 quad, Ati x1900, 2 500GB drives, 6 mb ram, dual 24"dell monitors
Hi Everyone.,

Ok, this may be really dumb, but I'm still learning.

I have a mac pro without an airport card. It is wired to my router with an ethernet cable.

I want to get an airport base station to take advantage of 802.11n.

Will this machine connect to that speed without an airport card? If I just connect the router I shouldn't need to enable anything fancy, right?
For some reason, I keep reading about the airport card, but that is for wireless, which I have no need for for this machine.

The imac in the other room will connect via wireless.
Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
If you're not using Wireless, you computer is already connecting to your network faster than Wireless using 802.11n.

802.11x speeds only apply for wireless connections. Wired connections, regardless are faster.

OP
L
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Oh really?

I'm glad I asked because I wouldn't have known that.

So now all I have to worry about is the imac in the other room, which is about 100 feet away from the router.
802.11n works for speed but not distance, am I correct?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone
If you are wired to a router to get an internet connection and you have an AirPort card in the Mac Pro, you can use that AirPort card to broadcast a wireless signal, like the base station, without having to buy one. I did this with my previous Mac, and Intel iMac.
Go to System Preferences > Sharing > Internet Sharing.
You should be able to setup the SSID and a password protect the network. Enable it and connection to your iMac should be simple.
You save $150 or whatever the base station costs but if the Mac Pro is off, obviously, the Wireless network is down.

OP
L
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs