New C2D Mac Mini tough enough for PowerMac G5's

Reaction score
Hey there, I'm an amateur Trance DJ and I use a IBM Thinkpad T42 for virtual mixing alongside my cd decks. However I want to start making professional trance music via software like Pro Tools, Logic, Reason & Ableton Live on the OS X platform. Im definately looking to move to OS X as its the better platform for this purpose but as I'm a newbie with only some knowledge of macs I'd really appreciate your help.

I'm looking to setup a small but effective studio for music creation, I've looked at the PowerMac G5's and the C2D Mac Mini, totally different I know but its my budget. I understand that the Mini is not really designed for this purpose but my budget cant really stretch that far, the max is about £450. I like the idea of having two displays and I would be using a midi controller via USB. I might use it for light surfing and some work as Im at uni at the moment but Ill probably leave that for the Thinkpad, the Mac can concentrate on its music making ability :D lol. Ive seen G5 dual 1.8ghz and 2ghz for about £450 roughly on ebay which is great but a 2ghz mini is also this price BRAND NEW with Leopard. Would I need a mac with better number crunching ability or something else? Any Mac musicians please tell me your thoughts and advice please. I'm very much looking forward to joining the Mac Community and really appreciate any help you can give, thankyou

Harmi :D

P.S . There a some iMac G5's with similar specs also, would an iMac G5 be a viable choice?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone