I want to connect my Macbook to my tv!

Reaction score
I have a brand new macbook and would like to connect it to my high defenition TV. However I've noticed that it will take about 100 dollars in cables to hook up my computer to my tv.

The only option I know of is purchasing a cable that turns DVI into a High Defenition port (NOT HDMI). and than I would have to buy the cable to turn my HD PORT into a HDMI connection (which my TV uses). Than buy a seperate cable to connect the sound to my radio or tv.

Is there a better MORE COST EFFECTIVE way of doing this. I know alot about computers (I am a systems administrator) however I just got my first tv, and know nothing. PLEASE HELP.

Reaction score
i hook my in to my HD TV using VGA, don't you have a VGA input on your TV?

Reaction score
All you need to connect to TV's HDMI port is:-

One of these (If you don't already have one)

http://store.apple.com/Apple/WebObjects/ukstore.woa/wa/RSLID?mco=7E4EB91E&nplm=M9321

plus one of these (Cheap as chips and available everywhere)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/GIZMO-DEALS-PREMIUM-PLATED-CABLE-PLASMA/dp/B000SSNH9U/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1198868911&sr=8-2

For sound you just need to use a standard audio jack cable (Cost about £1 if you don't already have one laying around)

Works fine for me on a 12" Powerbook

You could also use the mini DVI to VGA adaptor (Plus a VGA cable) but remember that VGA is analogue whereas DVI and HDMI are digital.

OP
K
Reaction score
All you need to connect to TV's HDMI port is:-

One of these (If you don't already have one)

http://store.apple.com/Apple/WebObjects/ukstore.woa/wa/RSLID?mco=7E4EB91E&nplm=M9321

plus one of these (Cheap as chips and available everywhere)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/GIZMO-DEALS-PREMIUM-PLATED-CABLE-PLASMA/dp/B000SSNH9U/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1198868911&sr=8-2

For sound you just need to use a standard audio jack cable (Cost about £1 if you don't already have one laying around)