Orderd a MacBook Pro... My 1st mac!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro 2.6, 4GB, 200 GB, Hi-Res Glossy
Ordered my MacBook Pro today! I went with the 17" 2.6ghz, 4 GB RAM, 200 GB 7200 RPM drive setup and went ahead and picked up a dock, 30" display and 1TB drive for backups along with some other goodies.

I also picked up some software, Final Cut Express, Aperture 1.5, Roxio Toast and Roxio Crunch.

I've been lurking on the forums for awhile know. I've done a lot of research and I think I've gone with the right setup for my needs.

I've been an IT Consultant for over 10 years mainly focused on Windows based servers, so the MAC will be a bit of a learning curve for me, but I am ready and willing to learn. I am actually REALLY excited about being a "switcher".

I hate to admit it but I use to be one that thought "Mac's sucked" and that "Mac's were only good for graphics (out of ignorance and lack of experience) but the more I read, and the more demos I see, the more it just all seemed to make alot of sense to me.

I spend A LOT of time maintaining the WIndows OS, at the office at home, for family, and I think I've just grown tired of all the trickery you have to pull to make it "just work".

I hope the MacBook Pro lives up to me expectations, and I look forward to exchanging info with everyon on here in the future!

;D

BigDaddyMAC

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MB White 160GB, 2GB RAM,
you have 1TB of external storage?? Thats amazing....

Congrats for your new acquisition and welcome to MAC World

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black MacBook- 2.2GHz, 1gb RAM, 160GB, Double-Layer Superdrive.
Welcome to the Mac universe, I'm sure you'll enjoy it!

OP
BigDaddyMAC
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Yup, 1 TB.. I picked up an external 1 TB disk for less than $300. It is really amazing how cheap disk space is these days! I was just talking about that with a co-worker today about how cheap RAM and hard drives are...