MacBook Pro with HDTV

Reaction score
Alright so I've been looking up various threads the last couple of days and have learned a lot but still have some questions about using a HDTV as my MBP monitor. I haven't purchased the TV yet and I'm looking in the price range of under $600. I want the TV to be able to play a PS3/Xbox 360 and run my MBP.
Is there a TV that I can get for this price range that will be a high quality monitor for my MBP? Many of the TV's I have seen in my price range are 1366 x 768 resolution. Will this look bad on the TV screen? I'm a college student and I live in the dorm rooms so I'm trying to kill a couple birds with one stone and save some space. Idealy there is a TV out there that will play a ps3/xbox 360 with the HDMI cord (I'm guessing in 720p for the price range) and that will work as a good monitor for my MBP which I will be playing games on and using to record tv, ect. Is there a tv out there that can do this? What will it have to have and are there any links to specific products?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8532938&type=product&id=1186008217365
this tv says it's resulution is 1680 x 1050 aside from the fact that it only has 1 hdmi input is this the kind of TV i should be looking for?

thanks for the help.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP C2D, 1 GB ram, 120GB HD
it also says that it only has one component input, meaning you would have to switch cords each time you wanted to switch from ps3 to 360. you will need an appropriate HDMI cable to plug your computer into the screen but that's about it.

OP
Z
Reaction score