Connect to Verizon Fios Router

Reaction score
Hello to all. I am in the process of defecting from years of using Windows PCs.

I am getting an iMac desktop tomorrow, and I am a newbie on this forum.

I am connected to Verizon Fios Internet via an Actiontec Motorola modem (MI424WR).

I did a search of this forum, and did not find much about connecting a new iMac to Verizon Fios. Verizon's website did not have anything for the Mac unless I missed it?

I have Fios currently setup using a coax connection from my home networks cat5 wiring. I have another computer set up wirelessly with a D-link wireless adapter. I also have a D-link Cable Router that I am not using currently.

Any help, instructions,links, links to tutorials, etc would be appreciated.

Thanks.

OP
B
Reaction score
Wow- not even one reply!

Well, I unhooke the PC from my Fios modem. I left the coaxrunning frommy data port to the Actiontec modem. That left one cable (the ethernet one) which I plugged in to the ethernet port on my iMac. Bongo- the internetwas there without any big deal as far as the installation.

I hope this will help someone else switching from a PC to a Mac and using Verion Fios.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
Not sure if anyone here has FIOS.

But as you experienced, networking just works with Macs. There isn't any reason any net connection wouldn't work on a Mac.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook Intel C2D 2.2GHz, 2G, 250G, SD, Leopard.
Welcome back schweb!

I have FiOS w/ a D-Link wireless router. Wireless or wired w/ CAT5, it doesn't matter. My MacBook loves FiOS. ^_^

It's funny though. My bro-in-law was here with my sis-in-law for Christmas. He brought his Dell laptop running Vista. He was unable to connect to my wireless network despite our efforts. After about a half hour of trying, he gave up.

(I have no trouble using FiOS and my D-Link with Win XP Pro or any Linux variants.)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs