how to preview .asp files in DW

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook white, 2.0 Intel Core 2 Duo Pro, 2 GB RAM, 13" screen
Hiya All,

I'm working on a site for someone who uses only .asp files. The design and layout has been subcontracted to me. I seem to have a really hard time previewing the pages in a browser thru DW. I have CS3. I use FF, IE and Safari to preview. Sometimes they work in IE or Safari, sometimes not. No .asp pages with any form/script will ever preview in FF for me. However once they are uploaded to the server, I can view them fine in all the browsers.

It is me? I'm still pretty new at this and am in the designing camp, and know almost no coding/programming at all.

TIA!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook G4
asp is a server-side language. it only runs on a server (windows) If you are trying to view asp thru your local computer, you wont be able to view it properly. You might have to install and configure your IIS and have .net framework to view locally.

or I recommend using this:
Web Matrix

unless anyone has a better method?

OP
rcronin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thank you! is there a reason they can be viewed in Safari and IE? It's very mystifying to me.

OP
rcronin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Just wondering if anyone came up with any ideas about this.

Happy New Year!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook G4
Thank you! is there a reason they can be viewed in Safari and IE? It's very mystifying to me.
ofcourse you can still view the html part on safari and IE but not the .asp code is not executing. does that make sense?

OP
rcronin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
ofcourse you can still view the html part on safari and IE but not the .asp code is not executing. does that make sense?