External HDD on Airport Extreme slow

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air 1.6 - iMac 20" for the wife
Hi,

Its my first time to use the Airport Express Base Station, and I connected an external USB2 2.5 laptop drive with 80GB and 5400RPM as for specs.

I did a speed test with my current Samba server on the same Lan, and it way outperformed the copy speeds coming from the AEBS's HDD.

My network consist of a modem of course, and on that hangs my AEBS. From the AEBS I have a LAN connection to my Samba server (Debian with 80GB share) and with USB2 my external HDD. My MacBook connects with 802.11n to the AEBS. I copied a file to the SAMBA on the server, and to the USB HDD on the AEBS, and the Samba server took it twice as fast. Reading had the same difference.

I just wonder. Why is it slow? Is this just the nature of the AEBS's disk sharing? If this is the case, I dont see much point having it.

Thanks,

Ben

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
One word - USB

Depends on your use for it as to whether any USB connected storage device will cramp your style or not.
Even FW400 will almost cut in half the read and write times for large files.

OP
B
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Hi

I didnt have this issue with USB yet. I mean the speed we are talking about here is about 50Mbit/sec. My LAN is 100MBit/sec and from the Samba server I am pulling data at 95MBit/sec approximately. From the USB through AEBS only with 50 or even less MBit/sec. That is outrageous, and I am sure the problem is not with the USB connection, but with something else, like the way AEBS serves the share up, etc.

Any experiences?

Thanks

Ben

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I repeat - one word - USB