Transferring a domain name to new server?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP (2009), White MB (2009), iMac G4
Hello, I run a web site for my dad's business, although I am not an expert web designer. I use iWeb and made a pretty decent looking site. The problem is I am fed up with the server that the site is stored on. The site is constantly going down, and the email now does not work at all and no one will return my emails. I want to move to a new server.

Anyway, is it possible to transfer a domain name to a new server? I registered the name with the server where my site is stored, and I have no idea how I could go about moving it to a new one. I can not lose this name because it is printed on countless business cards, company vehicles, etc. Can anyone enlighten me on how this is done?

Also some suggestions for good reliable (and fast) servers would be helpful too!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
You don't say what country you are in

1on1 were very good with my club's website, and handled the domain transfer

any host will be able to transfer a domain for you, but is it a proper domain or a sub-domain of the hosts domain?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Pro, 10 Core 3 GHz Intel Xeon W, 64 GB RAM, 2 TB HD, Vega 64 GPU
One thing they will do is send an email to whoever owns the domain name as dictated by the Whois database. If that's you, you can approve the transfer and your new host should be able to take care of it.

Similar to louishen, I transferred a domain using 1and1 and they were very helpful.

Sean

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac pro quad 2.66 / G5 1.8
Normally it's pretty simple, but it depends how the domain was bought in the first place.

If you bought it yourselves, you have the right to put it anywhere. Your new hosts will make some simple configuration changes to point the domain to their servers, and you're up and running.