Really need a suggesetion here...Macbook vs. Macbook Pro

Reaction score
Hello.

I'm just looking for some help here...I'm having an extremely difficult time making a decision. Here is my quandry.

I would really like to upgrade my Macbook to a Macbook Pro.

I have found someone will to do a trade...My Macbook + $450 for his Macbook Pro

Here are the specs on the two machines
Mine:
Black 13" Macbook
2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB Ram
120 GB HD
etc...

His:
15" Macbook Pro
1.83 GHz
1.5 GB Ram
80 GB HD
etc...

Am I getting ripped off?

I really want the larger screen, I don't care about the hard drive size (will be using external), and I don't care about the DVD writer (will be using external for DL...If it's possible, if not, I don't care about DL)
The better video card would be nice as well.

Does that sound like a fair deal? Will I notice a huge drop in speed? I don't use many serious programs either...I'm a teacher!

Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook, Black, 13.3 inch, glossy screen, super cool
Doesn't sound like a good deal to me. You'd be getting a slower computer (Less GHz, less Ram) and a smaller hard drive. Your MB plus $450 for a larger, slower computer doesn't sound like a good deal. That's just my opinion...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 20" 2.4/4/320/Leopard, 12" PowerBook G4 1.5/1.25/80/Tiger
Macofalltrades offers a base price of $500 for a 2Ghz MacBook and $700 for a 1.83Ghz MacBook Pro, all things equal.

So make that MacBook + $200, minus about $30 for the difference in RAM/HDD, and that makes about MacBook + $170. Cross check on eBay completed listings and that difference averages up about the same between the two.

Hope this helps!

As for your second question, I'd say the two are about comparable in "speed" for everyday tasks. You won't notice much of a difference except you'll have a little more screen real estate.

--Chris

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Keep what you have. It is more than fine for your listed needs.