Total Noob question

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2.16ghz White
Feel free to laugh and shoot me down on this one guys because it might be the most stupid question you will ever hear!!!!

If I was to use my 3MP camera phone and take a picture can i then upload it to me mac and improve upon upon the picture quality i.e make it look like say a 10MP image? If (which i highly doubt the answer to this is a yes) what software would I use and is there anyway i can get this for free? (legally!)

Thank you for your replys

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
You could open it up in photoshop and up the resolution, then use the Smart sharpen filter - but you are still just sharpening a lower resolution image - there are several paid for image upping utilities out there but they are still sharpening an image

Haven't got photoshop - try GIMP

http://www.macgimp.org/

OP
M
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2.16ghz White
Thanks for the reply but is MacGimp free? I have no money to spend on software as im still at school and have no income because i'm broke after buying this mac lol

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook / Mac Mini
You can not make a 3mp picture into something else... but as said, you, can adjust it to make it look better.

The auto adjust functions in iPhoto should be enough but http://www.pixelmator.com/ should be a great alternative if you want to spend a little money on a editing tool.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
GIMP is part of The GNU Project, open source and free

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.2Ghz i7 Late 2011 MBP: 16GB Ram 500GB Seagate XT HD
Can you make a 3mp picture into a 10mp picture? The answer is no.

Can your 3mp camera end up taking a 10mp picture? Yes with same post processing and some camera work.