my hard drive is almost completely filled

Reaction score
im new to macs so this may just be a normal thing, but i still dont know what to do. i am using an ibook g4 1.2 ghz, 1.25 gb ram and a 30 gig hard drive.i just upgraded from tiger to leopard and did a clean install, so i started fresh. i have barely put anything on the computer so far, just updates, iLife, the normal stuff, and my hard drive is almost completely full. I only have 7 gigs of hard drive space left and i cant figure out where it all went. can someone please help me figure this out so i can have some space to put other stuff besides the os
thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core Duo 20", iBook G4, iPhone 8GB :)
While installing Leopard did you install all the printer drivers and language files? Cause those take up a lot, and I mean, a lot of space. Also, use Xslimmer to slim down applications by a large amount, especially those iLife apps.

OP
C
Reaction score
yeah i installed it all, but i still dont see how the os could take up close to 30 gigs off space. im wondering if theres anything drastic that i can do to free up space cause its killing me, im now down to 1 gig and its really limiting what i can do on this machine, i dont want to have to buy a new hard drive, i just want to clean this one up, maybe put my personal stuff on an external hard drive and then clean install? what do you suggest

M

MacHeadCase

Welcome to Mac-Forums, CAUTION5697.

Just to let you know that even if you do find a way of eliminating some stuff and saving disk space at the start, a 30GB hard drive, by today's standards, isn't really big. You'll have to change that HD of yours somewhere down the line for sure.

Don't forget the system takes up empty disk space on the internal and uses it as virtual (swap) memory when physical RAM is short.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Pro 2017 3GHz 10-core 128GB RAM MacBook Pro 13-inch 2.3GHz i5 16GB RAM