Did somebody put a hex on me?

Reaction score
It's a long post so get a brew and a ciggie if you use them :D

I am a new switcher of only a few days standing and I am working on a very tight shoestring so, for the moment, freeware is the way to go. I have just got a G3 PowerMac @400Mhz, 256 RAm and 12 gig HDD. It is running OS 9.2.1 with another 256 RAM on the way.
Pretty meagre stuff I admit but I'm only learning.
Here's what's gone wrong so far.

I can log in to this forum on a PC but when I try to log in on the Mac, I sign in and the page I get directed to says "You are not signed in". This is a constant loop that happens no matter how many times I sign in, restart or connect/disconnect from the internet.

I have other windows PCs on a home network so I had a look at FREE Anti-virus software where I noticed a strange thing. All the reports on Mac viruses say that there were between 60 and 80 viruses made that attacked a Mac computer running OS 9 or earlier but not a single one written to attack a Mac computer running OSX. So how come there seem to be no Freeware Anti-virus progs that run on OS 9.2.1 but several that run on OSX?

So I gave up on that and went on to my next issue which was an uprated web browser. I use eBay a lot and eBay kept telling me to upgrade my IE 5. My first stop was to find an IE upgrade that works with Macs but there are none and IE have pulled out altogether. My next stop was Mozilla but that won't work on less that OSX or so the Mozilla web page says. I couldn't get Opera to play either so I grabbed Netscape while the grabbing was good.

Has anyone ever tried to find a freeware text editor for a Mac that's freeware? I have. I found a few that looked good until you went to download them and found that the minimum specs included those dreaded words Not compatible with OS9 so scratch the idea of a text editor.