Leopard JDK 1.6 Support?

Reaction score
I just bought my first mac book pro. I've upgraded the OS to 10.5 Leopard. This version only has Java 1.5 on it. I'm a Java developer and it's pretty important to have JDK 1.6 installed. Where can I find the installation for this? If this isn't supported, why wouldn't it be? Thanks in advance!

Del

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2xQuad core 2.8GHZ
There is no JDK 1.6 for the Mac platform as yet.

OP
D
Reaction score
does anyone have any inside information on when 1.6 will be released for mac. I just got a mac last week and don't really know their release schedule but I would imagine that this is an important issue to other Java developers. Anyone else concerned on this issue?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
I have no idea. But considering Jobs earlier this year said. “Java’s not worth building in. Nobody uses Java anymore. It’s this big heavyweight ball and chain”, I wouldn't expect it soon.

Del

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2xQuad core 2.8GHZ
Nobody uses Java anymore.

He really should do a bit more research, Java is everywhere including in the Mars rover.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
According to some reports I've read, they're definitely still working on Java support and will add it in at some point.

It's disapppointing it's taking Apple this long and I think they might be better off turning it back over to Sun to develop.

Also check this out:
http://landonf.bikemonkey.org/2007/11/19

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Lenovo Z560 Hackintosh -:- '06 iMac -:- iPod Touch 2ndGen
He really should do a bit more research, Java is everywhere including in the Mars rover.

Agreed. He's treating Java as a second-class citizen, and it's a bit Microsoft-y if you ask me. "Use our stuff or go away."

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs