macbook or pro for designer

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am a inhouse designer and looking to purchase a new computer. I work with a macpro at work with a 23inch monitor, its tight.

But i need something along the lines of traveling. i have been going back and forth about which book i was going to get,

I know the pro has a better graphics card but i hear that really only applies to video. i am a print designer and deal with CS3 max 3 programs open at once. So do i go the 9 yards and purchase the pro, or will it really matter

i know that when i talked to a few cos. serv guys they said that cs3 runs of the graphics card and doesnt slow down the processer.

regardless i will go with 2.2ghz, 2gs or ram120-160 g HD..

My mind was made up with the pro, but when i went into apple today they guy said that the new macbook came out last week and there is a better graphics card than there was before.

what do u all think.. thanks

Reaction score
My MacBook (specs in sig) runs CS3 just fine. Obviously the newer MacBooks have better specs, so they should run CS3 even better. I'd get at least 2 gigs of RAM.

The video card won't make any difference as CS3 is 2D software. My MacBook doesn't lag at all. The newest MacBooks still use shared video RAM. Sure, it's better than the previous generations, but it's still shared memory.

All of that being said...

I have only two complaints with my MacBook.

First, the fans run a lot when using Photoshop. You don't even have to tax the processor to much. Using any decent sized brush will be followed by the steady whirring of the fans. It's kind of annoying. I don't know if the Pro acts the same way. Maybe someone with a Pro can chime in.

Second, the screen is just to small for graphics work, IMO. I'm accustomed to large dual monitors at work. It's hard for me to be productive on the MacBook. Of course, you can use an external monitor, but that's not very practical if you plan on traveling with it.