Looking for graphic tablet advice

Reaction score
Hello all, looking for advice on a graphic pen and tablet. I am just learning photoshop and I really dont have a lot of money to spend so I will be watching ebay, amazon and craigslist. Just looking for advice on a simple and relatively inexpensive unit to learn on. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

M

MacHeadCase

Wacom is surely the best out there. They have different qualities and sizes. The smaller, the least expensive it gets.

I was going to suggest either a used Intuos 2 (I have that one and the drivers still work with OS X 10.4.10 Tiger) or a brand new Graphire (now only Bluetooth - if you could find a used USB model, would be cheaper) but I see Wacom has a new entry level tablet called the Bamboo.

Don't know how this one would work, if it's so stripped down you loose too many features to use it as a decent designing tool or not.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Pro, 10 Core 3 GHz Intel Xeon W, 64 GB RAM, 2 TB HD, Vega 64 GPU
I would second MacHeadCase's recommendation on the Wacom. They are the industry standard when it comes to graphics tablets, and they come in a variety of models from entry level (Bamboo/Graphire) to professional. I have an Intuos3, and I love it. Check out their website for more info.

Sean

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i7, MBP 2.2GHz, Hackintosh (retired)
I have a Wacom Graphire 4 USB which works quite well in Leopard with the new beta driver on Wacom's site. Tablet is definitely the way to go for graphics work. I'm starting to experiment with it to do vodcasts now.

OP
O
Reaction score
Hello and thanks to all who answered my thread, I finally went with a wacom Bamboo. I am a disabled vet and dont have a lot of money to throw around but was able to afford the low end wacom. Thanks to all for your advice.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.