OS X 10.4 won't bind to SAMBA PDC

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a beginner in networking achitecture and administration.

I have a samba domain contoller on an Ubuntu server 6.x system and 3 Mac OS X 10.4 clients. I also have several WindowsXP SP 2. I was able to ad my WinXP professional systems easily to the domain and everything is great.

Now, I have 3 Max OS X 10.4 clients that I can't bind to the domain on the ubuntu box...I get an error that the domain can't be found. I use the Directory Access GUI to attempt the binding...should I be using command line? Any ideas?

I use the samba PDC to manage the ACL, so I don't have openLDAP installed. Also, I don't have a DNS behind the firewall, I point to my ISP's DNS.

joe

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.2ghz, 3GB, 250GB - 16GB White iPhone 3G - 2nd Gen 1GB Shuffle
Hello,

I am a beginner in networking achitecture and administration.

I have a samba domain contoller on an Ubuntu server 6.x system and 3 Mac OS X 10.4 clients. I also have several WindowsXP SP 2. I was able to ad my WinXP professional systems easily to the domain and everything is great.

Now, I have 3 Max OS X 10.4 clients that I can't bind to the domain on the ubuntu box...I get an error that the domain can't be found. I use the Directory Access GUI to attempt the binding...should I be using command line? Any ideas?

I use the samba PDC to manage the ACL, so I don't have openLDAP installed. Also, I don't have a DNS behind the firewall, I point to my ISP's DNS.

joe
Since you said you arent running DNS behind the firewall, sounds like that might be your problem. If your machines are pointing to your ISPs DNS your ISPs DNS wont know about your DC behind your firewall. Unless I am confused as to how your network infrastructure is setup. Sounds like you will need to setup some sorta DNS server within your LAN.

OP
J
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply