Need Help on version of OS X 10.4 Tiger

Reaction score
I have a MA699LL/A Intel Core 2 Duo 1.83 GHz MacBook. The Drive is wiped and I'm kinda new to the Mac Scene I just don't know which version of the OS Tiger 10.4 you need for it. I'll have to buy it because I don't have the original Restore Discs. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
There's actually only one version of 10.4, the rest are just system updates. So just buy a retail copy of OS X and then you'll get the latest updates through Software Update.

OP
C
Reaction score
Ok I was just making sure that it had to be the 10.4 because I have A different version its 10.4.6, AHT version 3A104 Disc Version 1.0 . But considering if it says it will not install on this computer, its obviously a wrong version. So you say 10.4 ok then thanks for the help.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
The only way it wouldn't install is if you have the install discs to a Mac that is not of the same model as the one you have. So if you tried to use iMac install discs on your Macbook, it wouldn't let you, and the same applies for any other non-Macbook install disc. Heck, you may not even be able use discs designed for a different generation Macbook.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Al iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
Stop right there! :)

OS X 10.5 Leopard will be out to buy, probably on either 23rd or 30th October.

I'd really recommend you wait, even if you can't use your Mac at all for a couple of weeks.

M

MacHeadCase

Welcome to Mac-forums, chicago228.

Warning: If you buy a retail full install copy of Tiger, it is only good to install on PowerPC Macs.

If you really need Tiger (plus the bundled software and hardware diagnostic tool) right now, it would be best if you contacted Apple and asked instead for a replacement of your Restore disks that way it would install or be useful for your Intel-based Mac.

Reaction score