Cannot Load Mac OS X, Hard Drive not found

Reaction score
Yesterday I went to turn back on the computer, and I was unable to login using my original password. I looked in the manual that came with my Powerbook G4, and followed the directions to reset my password. However, I was unable to reset the password, so I then decided it was time to just reinstall the OS X operating system, but was given an error that the software could not install. When I went to re-install the software again (restarted the computer with the Disk 1 inserted), the hard disk was no where to be found. I have no idea what to do (I'm still a relative newbie as far as Macs go), and I am only able to get to the Installation screen if I load my Disk 1, otherwise my computer will not do anything but display a blank screen with the little circular image in the middle.

I have done everything in the manual regarding re-installation, but there doesn't seem to be anything in there for my particular situation.

Any help on this topic would be greatly appreciated!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sawtooth G4 and PB G4 w/FW800
It's possible that you have a dead hard drive. I know I just replaced the drive on my PB G4.

The good news is hard drives are cheap ($70 for a 120 GB), the bad news is disassembly of the machine (1.67GHz FW800 model for me) was a bit tedious. I think earlier machines are easier.

If you boot the installer disk, can you go to the menu at the top and select Disk Utility. See if the machine even sees the hard drive anymore.

Scott

OP
E
Reaction score
I can get to the disk utility, and it shows the HD, but it looks somewhat faded, and when I attempted to use the first aid option it said that there were errors and that it could not complete the task. I don't think the HD is dead, but it seems almost hidden and unusable. I think the other options in disk utility were to erase, partition and something else, but I have not tried any of these things yet.

cwa107

Retired Staff