Windows user thinking of making a MacBook switch

Reaction score
Hello all. I'm new to this forum. I'm a VERY long time windows user. By trade I'm a web developer/designer. I'm one of those that actually make a good living at it! I use Adobe CS3 web premium extensively which includes Photoshop and DreamWeaver among other dev programs. They are power hungry. I recently talked to some fellow web developers who use MacBook Pros. I've always been curious about Macs and decided my next notebook will be a Mac. Right now I have a 17" wide screen pc and I like the viewing real estate.

I think that I probably need a MacBook Pro. My question is do I? Also should I get a 15" or 17" screen? I've never worked on a wide screen 15". Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

Reaction score
Hello and welcome to the forums!

The MacBook Pro would be great. The 15" model would be my choice. The 17" is nice in the viewing department, but it's borderline to big to carry around. It's more of a desktop replacement.

I have a MacBook (see my sig) and it runs CS3 just fine. The only issue is the screen size. I love it for portability, but it is small for productivity work in CS3.

Of course you will have the ability to hook either machine up to a larger desktop monitor if you so desire.

The major difference is in the video RAM department. The MacBook uses shared RAM, whereas the Pro uses a dedicated video card with dedicated RAM.

It's not really an issue as CS3 isn't a 3D intensive software set.

You will also be able to run Windows on your new Mac if you still need it for certain applications. That's a nice feature if you still want to be a slave to Microsoft. ;D

The best advice I can offer is to buy the best machine you can justifiably afford. If that's the Pro, I'd go for it. If you don't want to spend the extra cash, the MacBook will suffice. I would recommend two gigs of RAM if you decide to go with the MacBook.