tcsh - questions about alias, dotfiles

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a newbie, trying to port my linux dotfiles to the factory-installed BST unix under mac OS X 10.4. I have set my default shell to tcsh and I'd really like to update my .cshrc so that it works with that. I have for example this line

alias lrrt 'ls -lrt'

When I launch a new tcsh, or source this .cshrc file manually from a tcsh prompt, and then try to issue the alias with no arguments, here's what I get;

<my_iMac_tcsh_prompt> % lrrt
:No such file or directory

I've also tried this;

alias lrrt 'ls -lrt \!*'

which has the same effect.

Note that if I execute the alias directly at the tcsh prompt, and then use it with no arguments, it works

<my_prompt> % alias lrrt 'ls -lrt'
<my_prompt> % lrrt
total 72
drwxr_xr_x 183 blah blah 6222 Sep 9 13:39 some_directory
drwxr_xr_x 5 blah blah 179 Sep 13 14:44 some_other_directory
[etc.]

Also, I am attempting to set the path;

set path=($path . /Users/me/bin /usr/bin /sw/bin /sw/igpp/bin)

When this is executed as part of a .cshrc, I get

tcsh: set: Variable name must begin with a letter.

This is encouraging as it shows at least that tcsh is the shell executing the commands, but I think the syntax of the set command is correct.

If I do a

< my_prompt > % which tcsh
/bin/tcsh

is what I see.

Any suggestions or explanations about what is going on here would be truly appreciated -

C

OP
N
Reaction score
Some more info

So, I now believe this has something to do with the way my .cshrc file is formatted. If I run vim and type the aliases in, one by one, then I get a clean file and it sources on startup successfully. Even cutting and pasting from the old, linux-imported file into a new vim session (with a new file) seems to work. But, looking at the hidden characters using vim :)set list) the end-of-line formatting looks to be correct.

Still a mystery, but at least I have a workaround-

C

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD