How to: Mount an external usb hard drive?

Reaction score
Hi all,
just switched to the new Imac. This machine is amazing - I'm never going back to windows!
However, I have an external hard drive which I m trying to mount on the new mac using a usb enclosure. I connect the drive but I can't "see" it anywhere (desktop or disk utility) any ideas?
Complete newby - so please help me!
OS X 10.4.10

Reaction score
Does it need external power? Maybe it's not formatted (or it's formatted to something unusual that the OS can't read) and so there's no volume to mount.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Does it need external power? Maybe it's not formatted (or it's formatted to something unusual that the OS can't read) and so there's no volume to mount.

A different file system wouldn't account for the drive not mounting.

Anyway, like thebrza mentioned, is there a power cable that you forgot to insert? Perhaps try another cable (it sounds weird, but it actually happened to me yesterday; I couldn't get my external drive to work when I never had any problems before, but I decided to swap the cable and bam, it magically starts to work)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP, 2.26GHz, 8gb RAM
I was just looking at buying an external hard drive... it seems that they're plug-in-and-play for Windows and Linux but Macs (often) need drivers... so that might be the problem.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I was just looking at buying an external hard drive... it seems that they're plug-in-and-play for Windows and Linux but Macs (often) need drivers... so that might be the problem.

Can you show me a URL where it states that OSX needs USB drivers for external drives? I have never seen that in the years I have been using Macs.

OP
S
Reaction score
Do you mean a power or data cable?