My notebook/desktop/monitor conflict!

Reaction score
Hello all, I am an aspiring photographer / graphics designer currently using an 8 month old 15" MBP with 2.16ghz and 2 gigs of ram. I have been drooling over the 23" Cinema display for months now and was about to purchase it when suddenly the new iMac was released. Now I am torn between the 24" iMac and using a 23" cinema display with my MBP.

I feel that a desktop would be great for me since I take my laptop with me everywhere and it would be nice to have a computer dedicated to graphics design and photo editing. I would love a Mac Pro, but it is way out of my budget.

What I am asking for opinions on, and please feel free to explain in depth, is whether or not I will be able to run Photoshop, iTunes, and Safari all at once happily on the MBP + Cinema display or if realistically a desktop is needed. I could go for the iMac, but I feel that for the hefty price it is not as great for graphics / photo editing as it should be. Also, the glossy screen on the iMac is a turnoff for me as I enjoy matte surfaces. Thanks guys.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
See Sig...
Does the MBP run PS, iTunes and Safari at once now with no issues? I'd be stunned if it didn't, and if it does, then the 23" display will make no difference.

OP
G
Reaction score
Yes, it runs okay right now but I've noticed the machine runs considerably slower than it did when I first purchased it. How big/noticeable is the difference between 2.16 and 2.4ghz? I read somewhere that one con of the new iMac's is that they only have 800ghz FSB. I don't know what that means, but how much do the MBP's have?