Questions about iBook

Reaction score
I recently was given 3 Ibooks
Memory 128 mb
Processor 600 MHz PowerPc G3
Running os 10.2.8.
Now my questions. Is it worth upgrading the memory or anything else on this ibook? This is not my primary computer. If possible I would just use it get on the internet and other simple applications. I recently started my masters classes, and this seems easier to carry than my other larger computer. I figured since i have 3 of them, if something does go wrong with one of them i can use the spare parts to get it running.
Thanks for your time. It is my first time really working with macs, so wish me luck.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 300MHz 288mb RAM Mac OS X (Panther), iMac G3 500MHz (Panther), iMac G3 350MHz (Tiger), iPod
It's not really necessary to install more RAM especially if your just going to be at 10.2... I'm running 10.3 with mine and I still only have the factory RAM in it...

Welcome to the Forums, and also good luck newbee!
iMacKid500 :D

OP
U
Reaction score
so its really not worth the money installing more RAM. it should be able to handle much of what i want?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbook 2GHz intel core duo 2 GB ram Mac os x 10.5 Leopard
how did you manage getting your hands on three free ibooks?

OP
U
Reaction score
im a teacher and our district is going away with using macs. They will not support them and they prefer we do not use them. i was supposed to give up, but our IT guy said to keep them for my use. and try not to use them in the classroom.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
See Sig...
128MB of RAM would render the machine totally unusable. OSX is a RAM hog (much like any other modern OS...). The more it has, the happier it is. 512MB is the LEAST amount of RAM I'd be ok with running OSX on. And on that computer it's going to be especially painful with 128MB because it's going to be swapping to the disk constantly, and that thing has a very, very, VERY slow hard disk.