unique problem - no one knows!

Reaction score
I have a fairly unique problem with my iBook that no one has been able to help me. Help me Obi-wan, you are my only hope!

ok, here it is:

One day i started my iBook and everything booted up perfectly. The desk top looked fine and everything was running. Then after about 2-3 minutes the iBook would freeze. the mouse didn't move, i couldn't do anything with the keyboard, it just froze completely. I restarted, and everything looked ok, for a bit. Suddenly the iBook would freeze again, but this time, in less than 2-3 minutes. I restarted and this time the iBook wouldn't start the OS at all, instead what i got was the screen changing colors, blue, yellow, green, etc, intermittently.

i took it to the apple store and they said that it was something to do with the logic board. I'm fairly new to mac, so I assume the logic board is the PC equivalent of the motherboard. Now my thought was, if there is a problem with the logic board, why does the iBook start up fine (for 2-3 minutes) when i turn it on after a while (a day or two).

A friend recommended i try and reinstall OS from the CD. so, i restarted, pressed C when the CD was in. the CD started spinning then nothing... the monitor would freeze before anything happened (basically, just a blue screen).

i tried turning it on whilst removing the battery, so running on power only. no difference. i tried starting it with the OS cd in, or nothing in at all. nothing.

as the iBook is out of warranty, it would cost me approximately £650 to fix, which is rather expensive!

now my question is this: has anyone experienced this kind of problem before? why is it that when i start (after leaving it off for a few days), i can get everything to work within the 2-3 minutes before it freezes? i can open Skype, Safari, anything pretty much, but only within that 2-3 minute window before it freezes.