Newbie Question

Reaction score
Hello-

I am a newbie to the world of Mac's so please forgive the novice questions.

1) What program can I use to edit mp3 or wav files? In the PC world, I used a program called CoolEdit Pro. Is there something similar for the Mac?

2) I have some .avi files that I downloaded on my PC that will not play on the Mac. They played in Windows Media on the PC but I would like to avoid loading Windows Media player on my MacBook Pro. Imovie does not recognize them as valid media/video files. Any recommendation on what I could use?

Thanks in advance,
Darin :Oops:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2GHz/2GB/CD
Hi there,

1) I have Audacity installed.

Audacity is free, open source software for recording and editing sounds.

2) I use VLC for my video files.

VLC media player is a highly portable multimedia player for various audio and video formats (MPEG-1, MPEG-2, MPEG-4, DivX, mp3, ogg, ...) as well as DVDs, VCDs, and various streaming protocols. It can also be used as a server to stream in unicast or multicast in IPv4 or IPv6 on a high-bandwidth network.

Good luck, and welcome to Mac-Forums!

OP
D
Reaction score
Hello and thank you for the quick and informative response. Quick follow up question. Will VLC allow me to convert the video into a format that IMovie and IDVD will recognize? or will I need another application or that?

Reaction score
Hello and thank you for the quick and informative response. Quick follow up question. Will VLC allow me to convert the video into a format that IMovie and IDVD will recognize? or will I need another application or that?

VLC is just a media player. It doesn't have any conversion capabilities.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2GHz/2GB/CD
05GT is correct, there is no conversion. It will just play your video files.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
I *think* QuickTime Pro will do this, but you need to purchase it. It is not a free item.

Reaction score