File Organization Tips

Reaction score
Hi,

A few weeks ago i was totally re-organizing my file system on the computer.
What i did. I threw all of my projects, everything, into 1 folder and from there moved them to "Archive" or the "Pending" box.

The problem starts with Archive. I don't where exactly to store my files. Some are more like Art, Music (i am a musician) and so on. But problems come in when i reach files for my job. As i said i am a musician - an Audio Engineer to. So where do i store those file regarding reading material about Audio Engineering which tell about music theory? Hmm?!
Sure, i can tag those files with Quicksilver or Punakea (the best tagging software i found for the mac except it doesnt let you choose which characters to use for delimiting tags) but, you know, that isn't exactly what i am looking for.

So i asked myself, how are you organizing your files, your life etc into folders and subfolders?

Thanks in advance
Zettt

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3
I like to compare my file organisation on my imac to the ancient Roman Empire

All of the sub folders which is like all of the outlying roman cities are totally organised. Everything in neat ordered lists. I can easily find anything I want. It's great. Everything has it's place. For example music videos are in the the relevant artist folder in the music video folder and the same for the rest of my files.

But my dektop or Rome is a complete mess. Anything new is just dumped there. And anything that doesn't fit on my desktop is just shoved into a desktop folder so unorganised etc. And like only every few months do I do a clean up and organise everything to there it belongs (that includes things that need to be trashed). But given a week or so it's back to it's messy state.

I'm not a fan of how I do things but it's just how I do things. I so need a better way though.

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score