Some important q's from a soon to be switcher

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Imac
Hello guys.. new to the forum and to macs and will be buying my first apple tomorrow. The mac pro is what I want, specifically for movie editing and video function support/speed, but I wont have the money for this machine. Here lies my first question.. will the new 24" Imac still be able to support editing with professional quality.. like using editing programs like fcp studio 2... the lady at the mac store said to get fc express but I dont really know what the difference is.. I just want the best with what I can work with, which will have to be on the Imac. I hope to edit film for actual indie movies and music videos..

2nd.. is it really nessisary to max out the ram to 4 gb in order to get the fastest speed with my editing.. or will 2 gb be enough?

Also.. i'm a student and am use to using word or abi word to transfer papers through e mail... is Iwork better or stick to office? I need something that doesnt lack spell check, ha!

Also, I have just recently read on this forum that there isnt a virus problem with macs.. that is crazy to me.. why is it so tough to make a virus for a mac os and so easy for windows? I'mm going to be shittin my pants surfing the net and d loading things without some sort of virus/spyware protection.. is it really true I dont need to worrie about that stuff? why would anyone stay on a windows pc if they could switch and be virus and spyware free?

Lastly, how much should I care about buying a computer before the leapord OS comes out... I fell like im getting ripped off knowing something new is coming out in 2 months... when instaling leapord after already having tiger, do you lose everything you had on the old OS? I never switched out a os, even on windows...

Any help would be great.. specially the ram/speed question for editing.. thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K